Emacs DBLP Mode for better Papers in LaTeX

25 10 2010

Do you remember the last time you were writing a paper and you knew that you reached the perfect point for a citation. You knew the author or the paper but you did not want to lookup the BibTeX entry or even create it? So you started to use rDBLP, but now you have to lookup the citation key every time again and again. Since your BibTeX file is now build after the paper was compiled the first time, there is no chance to use common BibTeX management tools.

As a consequence from this problem I wrote a small minor mode for Emacs that allows to search the DBLP database directly from Emacs and insert the correct citation key.

To install this minor mode follow these steps:

  1. Go to your local site lisp directory – e.g. ~/.emacs.d/elisp
  2. git clone git@github.com:grundprinzip/dblp.el.git
  3. and now add the following lines to your Emacs configuration to activate the minor mode as soon as you enter LaTeX mode
;; DBLP mode
(add-to-list 'load-path "~/.emacs.d/elisp/dblp.el")
(require 'dblp)
(add-hook 'LaTeX-mode-hook 'dblp-mode)

If you want to use the querying hit “C-M-c” if the DBLP mode is activated and this will start an interactive mode to query DBLP.

Currently the minor mode requires Ruby to be available on the platform. I plan to port the parser and querying to Lisp but currently it’s easier for me to write it in Ruby. Do you have any comments or questions, please leave me a message in the comments.

-Martin

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 03 2011
Roshan James

Hi, I was thinking of building something similar for myself. If your tool works well, I’ll probably stick to it. A few issues etc:

1) Its annoying to have a git clone to fetch this. I don’t usually use git and it was a 13mb download. I am on Ubuntu 10.10 btw.

2) When using git, I got the following:
osh ~/temp 1 $ git clone git@github.com:grundprinzip/dblp.el.git
Initialized empty Git repository in /home/rosh/temp/dblp.el/.git/
Permission denied (publickey).
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly

Isn’t your repo public?

3) Anyhow I got to your github page (https://github.com/grundprinzip/dblp.el) and downloaded a tar.gz. However when I try and load it in emacs (ver 23.1.1) I get

“Warning (initialization): An error occurred while loading `/home/rosh/.emacs':
File error: Cannot open load file, http-post-simple”

Maybe there is a apt-get package I can install to make this go away? I am stuck at this point.

Roshan

20 03 2011
Roshan James

So after some googling, I got http-post-simple installed through ELPA (http://tromey.com/elpa/). Is there an easier way?

However when I try dblp-query-browse and get it to insert a citation, it inserts its in the following form: \cite{conf/pado/2001} i.e. without the DBLP: prefix.

This is not what you have in your blog entry about rDBLP. Is this expected? I tried to double check this by installing rDBLP but I ran into trouble there as well (I have dropped a comment on that blog entry.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

